Go to Kentucky.gov home page
Carlisle County, Kentucky Carlisle County, Kentucky

External Links

Some of the links on this site may resolve to non-governmental agencies.  The information on these pages is not controlled by the Carlisle County Fiscal Court or the Commonwealth of Kentucky.

External links are identified with the following icon: External Link - You are now leaving the .gov domain.

Welcome to Carlisle County!

Carlisle County was the 119th county in order of formation in the Commonwealth.  It was part of Hickman County from 1821 to 1842 when it was included in the creation of Ballard County.  Carlisle County was then created May 3, 1886.  It lies in the Jackson Purchase region of far western Kentucky.  It has an area of 199 square miles.  It was named for John G. Carlisle, a politician who served at many levels of government from 1859 to 1897.

The County is mostly flat with an abundance of fresh water in the many creeks and streams draining into the Mississippi River.  The land has sand, gravel, clay, and rich fertile soil.  Most of the area is farmland, growing an abundance of crops as well as tobacco.  We have a population in excess of 5350 people.  Bardwell is the county seat.  Other cities in the county include Arlington, Berkley, Cunningham, Kirbyton, and Milburn.

Our many departments are proud to offer services that make Carlisle County a great place to live, play, work, and enjoy the simple pleasures of life.  Come and experience our hospitality!




Contact Information

Carlisle County
Fiscal Court

P.O. Box 279
Bardwell, KY 42023

(270) 628-5451 - Office
(270) 628-0190 - Fax



Related Content

Last Updated 3/19/2014
Privacy | Security | Disclaimer | Accessibility Statement